FAQ

Frequently Asked Questions

Got Questions? We’ve Got Answers!

You will find answers to some common questions here. We have made Griddrive very easy to use. If you have not already done so, we recommend that you click on the 'Getting Started' tile from the home page (under the Features section) or just click the button below. Also make sure to check out all of the tiles under the features section from the home page.
GETTING STARTED

General

What are Team Folders?

Gridedrive Business Accounts are able to create Team Folders.

Team Folders are like Briefcase space, but with the ability to be seen by multiple users within the Business account as set by the Business Admin.

Each Team Folder can be set up with permissions that control whether a user has access to it, the options are:
No access – user is unable to even see the Team Folder
Read Only access – user can see the Team Folder and the contents, but cannot make any changes to it.
Read Write access – user can see the Team Folder and the contents, and can make any changes to the contents.

The permissions apply to the the Team Folder and any contents within the Team Folder – it isn't possible to set different permissions on the contents of a single Team Folder but instead should create additional Team Folders as required.

Why not try it and see how it all works. We give you 14 days to try the service for free.   SIGN UP

 

What is Griddrive Business?

A Griddrive Business account allows a business to create user accounts for its staff.

Each user account is able to be set up with Backup and Briefcase – each user account being separate to every other user account.

It is also possible to set up Team Folders, each of which is then set up with user permissions so that any individual user may have no access, read-only access, or full (read/write) access. The user can access the Team Folders they have access to through the web portal, or on their local machine where they appear within the Briefcase.

You can also use FTP, SFTP and/or WebDAV to transfer data to the Briefcase.

Please note: FTP, SFTP or WebDAV can be used to copy data to Briefcase. If you wish to use this functionality to copy data from a NAS (Network Attached Storage) device, this should be set up as an archive or replacement for your NAS. However if you wish to sync your NAS files with Griddrive servers, we recommend using Griddrive Backup with a NAS addon.

Why not try it and see how it all works. We give you 14 days to try the service for free.   SIGN UP

What is Griddrive Briefcase?

Gridedrive Briefcase is our flexible and innovative access-anywhere product, that lets you access your files wherever you go, and see the same files on all of your PCs. It is storage space on our servers that can be used to keep files synchronised across multiple locations, or to simply store files online without keeping a copy on your local machine.

As it is shared between all of your computers, and accessible from anywhere online, it is a great place to put the files that you use most regularly.

The Gridedrive Desktop software can be set to keep your Briefcase files on your hard drive as well as online, and you can access them at any time through a drive on your computer.

Once the software is installed you can use your Briefcase files just like any normal file on your computer. Because these files can be locally cached on your hard drive, as well as online, you will be able to use them when you're not connected to the internet.

You can use files in your Briefcase like any normal file, but with the added benefit that if you change a file on one computer it is automatically updated on all the other computers with the same Gridedrive account. You can view, edit or add files to your Briefcase anywhere in the world from your web browser.

Gridedrive keeps up to 30 versions of files uploaded to the servers so you can revert to a previous version if you made an incorrect change to a file and saved over the original.

Gridedrive keeps any deleted files for 30 days to allow for recovery in the case of accidental deletion.

Please note: The changes made to files within the Briefcase do not sync back to the original location of the file. For example, if you make a change to a file on your local hard drive, the changes will not be synced to the same file in the Briefcase.

**Upgrade to Pro Suite and and get unlimited Backup along with your briefcase plan.   I want ‘Pro Suite’

What is Griddrive Backup?

Griddrive Backup is a very simple and powerful online backup solution.

You choose which folders you want to backup, and Griddrive Backup will upload your files and protect the contents of those folders – it keeps a mirrored copy of your files securely online so that you can retrieve them at any time if they are lost or damaged.

Files that are selected for backup are stored securely with Griddrive and can be accessed and restored through the web portal or restored using our Restore Software.

As Livedrive Backup just makes a copy of the selected files from your machine to the cloud there is no additional space used on your hard drive.

The Desktop Software installer will take you step by step through setting up your backups – it's so easy to configure…just follow the on-screen instructions.

Griddrive keeps up to 30 versions of files uploaded to the servers so you can revert to a previous version if you made an incorrect change to a file and saved over the original. Griddrive also keeps any deleted files for 30 days to allow for recovery in the case of accidental deletion.

Please note: Griddrive Backup are not to be used for archiving. You must at all times hold an original copy of the data in the original location on the system it was backed up from. If you delete files from your computer that have been backed up we will remove the corresponding backup from our servers.

Why not try it and see how it all works. We give you 14 days to try the service for free.   SIGN UP

Billing

How Can I Cancel My Account?

Here at Gridedrive your account is automatically renewed upon its anniversary month or year from the date of creation as per Terms of Service.

The card details held against your account will be charged automatically to ensure that there is no interruption in the service and that your files continue to be backed up or stored.

If you wish to stop your account renewal, you must request for your account to be cancelled prior to your renewal date by submitting a ticket to our billing department. All cancellations are with immediate effect and cannot be future dated.

Once an account is closed, all data will be removed from our servers and your account will become inaccessible.

To cancel, please submit a ticket to our billing department.

Why is My Account Suspended?

As part of our terms of service we automatically renew on the anniversary of the account creation. If a payment cannot be taken on the renewal date, the account will suspend until a payment can be taken.

During the account suspension, no data is affected.

The account will remain suspended for 30 days to allow a payment to be made. After 30 days if no payment is made to reactive the account, the account will automatically closed and all data will be deleted. Once an account is closed it cannot be reopened.

To reactive your account, login to your web portal or dashboard*business and reseller, and update your card details.

A payment will be taken immediately and your account will reactive. 

Where Can I Find My Invoices?

To find your invoices, simply log into your account and then click on the ,My Account, link on the right. Or just click on the button below.

My Account

 

 

 

Getting Started

Where Can I Download the Software? How Do I Get Updates?

The desktop software can be download from your web portal. Log into your web portal and download the software from there. This will ensure that you have the latest build.

How do I administrate my Business account?

All administration of a Griddrive Business account is done through the web portal.

Please ensure that when you log in at http://www.Griddrive.net/login you choose the 'Business' tab and put the tick in the 'Login to Business Admin' box.

In the Business Admin portal you can review usage, manage & add new users, including setting how much space they are allocated for each of Backup and Briefcase, and manage & add Team Folders, including setting user permissions.

What mobile apps are there & where do i download them?

We currently support the following mobile devices:

IOS: iPhone and iPad

Android: Phone & Tablet

Windows 8

You can download these apps from their respective stores. Find out more here

More Questions?

Have you checked out all of the tiles in the home page under the features section? Still have more questions, then just click on the button below to go to the knowledge base. We have made sure that we have covered all possible topics.

Knowledge Base

Scroll to Top